• Special Election Yields Two New MHCC Board of Education Members

    On Tuesday, two new board members were elected to the Mt. Hood Community College Board of Education. Annette Mattson and Diane McKeel begin their four-year terms this summer. Current Board Vice Chair James Zordich was also re-elected in an uncontested race for Zone 2.

    Annette Mattson

    Annette Mattson won 79 percent of the votes to represent Zone 4, which includes parts of West Gresham and East Portland south of Stark Street. Mattson beat incumbent George ‘Sonny’ Yellott, who was elected in 2013.

    Mattson served as an elected volunteer member of the David Douglas School Board for 18 years; during that time, she chaired the board for three terms. She recently retired from her position as a government affairs and public policy specialist with Portland General Electric. In July 2016, Mattson joined the MHCC Audit Committee. She also served eight years on the Clackamas County Economic Development Commission. Mattson has a Bachelor of Science in human development from Warner Pacific College.

    Diane McKeel

    Former Multnomah County Commissioner Diane McKeel won 66 percent of the vote to represent Zone 1, which includes Fairview, Troutdale and much of east Multnomah County and a section of west Hood River County. McKeel and her opponent Jack Kondrasuk ran for the seat left vacant by Board Chair Susie Jones, who decided not to pursue re-election.

    McKeel served on the MHCC Foundation Board for 13 years and during that time she chaired both the board and the auction committee. She previously worked in adult education at MHCC and has received the college’s Patron Saint and 50 Outstanding Alumni awards. From 2008 to 2016, McKeel served two terms as a Multnomah County commissioner. Prior to her work with the Board of Commissioners, she served as Executive Director of the West Columbia Gorge Chamber of Commerce.